2013 Contest Results



 Leavenworth Model Club contest results

21 Sept 2013

Thank you to all the modelers and vendors who came and made our show a success. There were 243 models and 56 modelers entered. Congratulations to all the winners.


A-1. Biplanes

sponsored by IPMS Fort Crook (Omaha)

  • 1st place: Paul Kester, Gloster Gladiator
  • 2nd place: Paul Sarbacker, Fokker DR-1
  • 3rd place: Tim Fincham, Fokker E-111

A-2. 1:48th single engine prop driven

  • 1st place: Paul Kester, Lysander Mk III
  • 2nd place: Jarrod Booth, spitfire MK VII
  • 3rd place: Scott Hackney, MQ-9 Reaper

A-3. 1:48 single engine jet

  • 1st place: Darren Roberts, A-4A Skyhawk
  • 2nd place: Paul Kester, F-106
  • 3rd place: Hugh Palmer, F8F-5P

A-4. 1:48th multi-engine aircraft

  • 1st place: Kelly Quirk, EA-18G Growler
  • 2nd place: Darren Roberts, F-4B Phantom II
  • 3rd place: Frank Holsburg, F-15E Strike Eagle

A-5a (contest split)  1:72nd prop aircraft

  • 1st place: Jarrod Booth, P-51D Mustang
  • 2nd place: JW Dirkse, Ki-44II “Tojo”
  • 3rd place: Jeff Bobela, A6M
  • Honorable Mention: Shane Curtis, Tempest Mk V

A-5b (contest split) 1/72 jet aircraft

  • 1st place: Jeff Bobla, RoK F-4
  • 2nd place: Jarrod Booth, Hawker Sea Harrier
  • 3nd place: John Casey, A-7E
  • Honorable Mention: Don Joy, F-16 Aigle

A-6 1:32nd aircraft

  • 1st place: Steve Siebers, FW-190A7

A-7 1:144th aircraft

  • 1st place: Randy Fields, C-47
  • 2nd place: John Casey, F-16

A-8 Civilian aircraft, all scales

  • 1st place: Jarrod Booth, Hawker Sidney Trident

A-9 rotary wing, all scales

  • 1st place: JW Dirkse, AH-64A
  • 2nd place: Steve Rosairo, MI-24 Hind D
  • 3rd place: Glen Tisdale, HNS-1 Hoverfly


B-1a (contest split)  1:48th and smaller closed top, 1953 and earlier

sponsored by IPMS Fort Crook (Omaha)

  • 1st place: Chris Tisdale, M4A1 Sherman
  • 2nd place: Hugh Palmer, King Tiger
  • 3rd place: Randy Fields, M4A3 Sherman

B-1b (contest split). 1:35th scale military vehicles, closed top, 1953 and earlier

  • 1st place: Scott Connors, SU-152
  • 2nd place: Daryl Rhodes, KV-185
  • 3rd place: Bob Kerr, M4A3E2 Jumbo Sherman
  • Honorable Mention: John Case, Mk A Whippet

B-2. AFV, closed top, post 1953

  • 1st place: Kelly Quirk, M2A2 Bradley
  • 2nd place: Terry Barrow, M51 Isherman
  • 3rd place: Scott Johnson, Merkava, MK 3D

B-4. AFV, open top 1953 and earlier

  • 1st place: Randy Fields, M-10
  • 2nd place: Scott Hackney, Mobelwagon
  • 3rd place: Terry Barrow, Universal Carrier
  • Honorable Mention: Scott Johnson, Stug III

B-4. AFV open top post 1953

  • no entries

B-5. Towed Artillery, Missiles, and Rail-mounted.

  • 1st place: Daryl Rhodes, German artillery
  • 2nd place: Mike Seek, Atomic Annie

B-6 Armored Halftracks and Wheeled Armor

sponsored by Brett Sauer

  • 1st place: Steve Finley, Buffalo MPCV
  • 2nd place: Scott Connor, 250/8 Stummel
  • 3rd place: Shane Curtis, BRDM-2

B-7 Soft Skins

  • 1st place: Roger Sams, Simca-5
  • 2nd place: Randy Fields, WM1K Land Rover
  • 3rd place: Steve Finley, Supacat Jackal

B-8 Small Scale Military

  • 1st place: Terry Barrow, Panzer III
  • 2nd place: Kent Kirkpatrick, Italian C1 Ariete
  • 3rd place: Shane Curtis, Leopard 1A5


C-1. Replica Stock

  • 1st place: Rod Cook, ’57 Chevy
  • 2nd place: Alyn Loya, ’37 Chevy Coupe
  • 3rd place: Bob Floder, Cobra
  • Honorable Mention: Gina Davis, ’63 Corvette

C-2. Street Rod and Street Machine

  • 1st place: Rod Cook, Deuce Coupe
  • 2nd place: Terry Barrow, Speed Demon
  • 3rd place: Alyn Loya, ’23 Model T
  • Honorable Mention: Dan Cozine, Phantom Impala Wagon

C-3. Custom auto

  • 1st place: Rod Cook, ’48 Ford Custom
  • 2nd place: Steve Barnes, Radical Custom
  • 3rd place: Chris Keehl, Acura ENT, Type R
  • Honorable Mention: Jerry Mounce, ’41 Plymouth

C-4. Curb side

  • 1st place: Chris Keehl, Escalade
  • 2nd place: Steve Barnes, ’57 Chrysler 300
  • 3rd place: Jerrald Braiuca, ’69 Camaro

C-5. Motorcycles

  •       1st place: Vern Lyon, Marlboro

C-6a (contest split) Competition Drag

  • 1st place: Bill Davis, California Charger Rail
  • 2nd place: Rod Cook, Altered Sedan
  • 3rd place: Dan Cozine, Tommy Ijo Rail
  • Honorable Mention: Rod Holman, Camaro Promood

C-6b (contest split) Competition Other

  • 1st place: Chris Keehl, Nissan Skyline
  • 2nd place: Paul Kester, Miller Mustang
  • 3rd place: Cary Oldon, USA-I Monster Truck

C-7 miscellaneous auto

  • 1st place: Alyn Loya, ’25 Model T tow truck
  • 2nd place: Kevin Long, ’25 Model T fire truck
  • 3rd place: Ed Burgess, Steampunk Bus
  • Honorable Mention: Larry Todd, 26′ Mack Logging Truck


D-1. Humans,53 mm and smaller

  • 1st place: Randy Fields, Top Gun pilot, 1985
  • 2nd place: Kevin Tisdale, Steampunk Arielle
  • 3rd place: Ben Nagy, Panzer Crew at Rest

D-2. Humans, 54mm and larger

  • 1st place: Bob Rielly, US Paratrooper
  • 2nd place: Rob Polden, Judge Dredd
  • 3rd place: Glenn Tisdale, Lieutenant, Washington Light Artillery

D-3 Sci-Fi, Fantasy, and Monsters

  • 1st place: Roger Sams, MaK Raptor
  • 2nd place: Randy Fields, Wyatt Werewolf
  • 3rd place: Kevin Tinsdale, Ferral Warp Wolf
  • Honorable Mention: Rob Folden, Iron Man MK III and War Machine

D-4 Busts

  • 1st place: Paul Sarbacker, Ernst Udet
  • 2nd place: Darryl Rhodes, German Tank Commander
  • 3rd place: Tim Fincham, MG Burnsides

Space and Science fiction:

E-1. Space and Sci-Fi

  • 1st place: Steve Resario, Cardassian Galor Class Battleship
  • 2nd place: Ed Burgess, Waldo Airship
  • 3rd place: Chris Knutsen, Shinden Armor
  • Honorable Mention: Mike Seek, Lost in Space Jupiter II


F-1a.(contest split) Naval, 1/72nd scale

  • 1st place: Doug Robertson, USS Scorpion
  • 2nd place: Mike Seek, USS Skipjack

F-1b. (contest split) Naval, 1/400th scale and larger

  • 1st place: Hugh Palmer, IJN Mikuma
  • 2nd place: Richard Sliwka, USS Green Bay
  • Honorable Mention: Richard Sliwka, Surcouf French Submarine


G-1. Small Composition Diorama

  • 1st place: Bob Rielly, USMC Sniper Team
  • 2nd place: Steve Finley, “No Man’s Land,” Talon EOD Robot
  • 3rd place: Roger Sams, “Schnell! Schnell!”
  • Honorable Mention: Larry Todd, Draco from Dragon Heart

G-2. Large Composition Diorama

  • 1st place: Mark Gerges, Maintenance in Ukraine 1941, T-35 crew
  • 2nd place: Darryl Rhodes, German Infantry
  • 3rd place: Tim Fincham, Paratrooper

Junior Class: (age 17 and below)

H-1. Juniors, Aircraft

  • 1st place: Paul Curtis, Nakajima J1N1-S Irving
  • 2nd place: Joseph Hrencher, Mosquito

H-2. Juniors, All Others

  • 1st place: Paul Curtis, #20 home Depot Pontiac
  • 2nd place: Curtis Barrow, Landspeeder

Miscellaneous Class

J-1 Miscellaneous

  • 1st place: Darryl Rhodes, all-metal 88mm towed AT gun
  • 2nd place: Glenn Tisdale, RG&W railroad caboose

 Contest Special Awards:

Best in Show Aircraft: Kelly Quirk, 1/48 EA-18G Growler

                Sponsored by IPMS Fort Crook, Omaha.

 Best in Show Armor: Kelly Quirk, 1/35 M2A2 Bradley


 Best in Show Automotive: Bill Davis, California Charger Dragster

              Sponsored by KC Slammers.

 Best in Show Figures: Roger Sams, MaK Raptor

Best in Show Ships: Hugh Palmer, IJN Mikuma

              Sponsored by IPMS Fort Crook Omaha

Best Fabulous Fifties (2013 Theme Award): Rod Cook, ’57 Chevy

 The Judges’ Grand Award (Best in Show): Bill Davis, California Charger Dragster

People’s Choice Award: All people walking into the venue received a ballot to vote for their favorite. Mike Seek, Lost in Space Jupiter II

If you notice any mistakes, please email the webmaster to correct them.  Congratulations to all our winners!

One thought on “2013 Contest Results”

Leave a Reply

A plastic modelers club located in Leavenworth, Kansas